It’s Con Season!!!!

Lake Charles, LA

Sure, sure, plenty of folks have already turned on their geek in 2016 at Wizard World New Orleans, but for me, con season doesn’t really start until April 2nd, whenever myself and tons of other geeks meet up for the first ever Southern Geek-Fest put on by, you guessed it, Southern Geek.  This fan group (which I’m proud to say that I am a part of) has become a major force in the southern United States, attending multiple conventions and spreading the Southern Geek message for anybody that will listen (and a few held against their will).

I’m going to be volunteering at this convention and I cannot wait for it to get here!  It’s going to be a great event featuring guests such as Trina Nishimura of Attack On Titan fame, Tim Russ from Star Trek:  Voyager and Star Trek:  Renegades, Ann Mahoney (Olivia) and featured Walkers from The Walking Dead, numerous talented artists like Ken Davis, Cave Moran, and Gavin Michelli, cosplayers that include Angie Starr and Alice Infinity, and so much more!

It will take place in Hattiesburg, MS at the Forrest County Multi-Purpose Center.  It’s going to be a fun time and hopefully I’ll get to meet a few of my wonderful readers at the convention!

Be sure to check out the convention’s website here.  Also, visit their Facebook page and check out all of the cool stuff that’s going to go down in Mississippi!

11896557_1203515806342257_345706790034575276_o12377939_1271633039530533_5809519234545754852_o

Literally one weekend later, I’ll be manning the USS Lafitte table at CyPhaCon 2016.  This convention has been growing each year and shows no signs of slowing down.  The event will take place at the Lake Charles Civic Center from April 8th to the 10th.  I’ve always had a good time at this event, and this year doesn’t look like it is going to prevent me from doing so again.

The Anime Guest of Honor is Monica Rial, best known for her work on Michiko & Hatchin, Dragon Ball Z Kai, and Tokyo Ghoul.  She was supposed to attend last year, but something came up and she was unable to attend.  This year, however, it looks like she is locked in and I’m sure anime fans will have a blast getting to meet her.

Fans of Battlestar Galactica and a recent episode of The Flash might recognize CyPhaCon‘s media guest, Aaron Douglas.  He is the latest big announcement and, according to the convention’s Facebook page, there’s at least one more major media guest announcement still to come!  Be sure to check out there website by clicking here.

Other guests will include authors like S. Usher Evans, T.S. Barnett, and Chris Hayes.  Comic artists, cosplayers, and other guests will also be in attendance.  The convention’s Facebook page is very active and is constantly posting new additions to their lineup, so be sure to check’em out.

Oh, and did I mention that Orion’s Envy will be there????

10551548_1172718272755344_1400152015886887974_o

Next up is Space City Comic Con!  This event will take place at the end of May, from the 27th to the 29th at the NRG Center.  At the moment, I will probably only be able to attend on one day of the event.  Hopefully that will change and I’ll get to hang out with my Texas geeks all weekend long.

The guest list is amazing…..and long!  Media guests include Ron Perlman, Doug Jones, Gates McFadden, Marina Sirtis, Michael Dorn, Rene Auberjonois, Alex Kingston, Adrian Paul……you get the idea!  There will also be writers, comic artists, tons of vendors, cosplayers and a whole lot more.  As the event gets closer, I’ll post more info.  Until then, check out the event here.

12469522_477214822465936_9026762195938146890_o

Space City has always been one of my favorite events to attend.  I remember going to the first one at the Galleria a few years ago and have always been amazed at how much the event has grown over the years.

As you read above, the guest list is very extensive BUT I’m super excited to let everybody know that one of my favorite doctors, Doctor McKennah (Michele Specht) from Star Trek Continues, will be returning for her second go round at this event!  I met her for the first time last year and HAD A BLAST.  This year, Chris Doohan (yep, James Doohan’s son) will be attending the event with her.  He portrays his father’s character, Scotty, on STC.  Also in attendance will be STC guest star and Farscape great, Gigi Edgley, and Rod Roddenberry (Gene’s son).

DSCF6534

The final planned event that I will be attending at the moment is Bayoucon in Sulphur, LA.  The convention will take place at the WestCal Arena Events Center on June 24th through the 26th.  The event is still adding guests at this time, at their current list includes Ann Mahoney of The Walking Dead, Bobby Clark (the Gorn) from Star Trek, and Scott Schwartz, who has guest starred on multiple shows including Star Trek:  Enterprise, DS9, and Voyager, among other TV shows and films.

12376244_453839761474486_6261680329852416993_n

Bayoucon is a fun local event that features multiple artists, authors, cosplayers, and vendors.  Last year was one of their most solid events to date, and hopefully this convention will keep growing.

There are other events that will be happening this year that I really would like to attend, but life happens, and I may not be able to make it.  If I can, I’ll be sure to let you all know.

As always, thanks for reading.  Let me know if any of you will be attending any of these events and maybe we’ll get to hang out!

 

Published by kenfontenot

I am a husband, a father, and a major nerd. I enjoy science fiction, fantasy, comics, cosplay, and attending conventions. I'm also a huge Disney fan. I am growing to enjoy working out, and hope to include that joy in some of my posts.

Leave a comment